History Through Gaming: Final Blog

As the semester draws to a close, reflection is inevitable; this class is no exception. Looking back on “History Through Gaming,” there are many positives and just a few negatives to look at, so without further ado, let’s get right into it.

The Good

This course was super fun and unique, and I can very safely say I have never taken anything like it before. The use of video games as teaching tools was something my fifth-grade self would have been frothing at the mouth for, but as a college student I was able to control myself a little bit better; any and all frothing was done in the privacy of my dorm. Jokes aside, this class was pretty much exactly what I had hoped it would be, and I do not regret taking the class at all. I think with some refinement it would be very promising, and I of course have a few ideas.

What Could be Different

Why isn’t this heading titled “The Bad?” There really wasn’t anything “bad,” and so it would not be fair to label this part as such. However, there are things that could be improved and worked on. This is all simply one student’s opinion, so take it as is.

I think the single largest improvement to be made is in the focus of the class, and therefore the amount of games. If the class is more narrowly focused, for example, “Ancient Rome through Gaming” (I know I’m biased), then the amount of games required would be dramatically lowered. Further, I think it would allow for a more thorough look at each game, which is something Jeremiah McCall seems in favor of. Looking more closely at the games helps point out what is wrong with the games, and I don’t think there was enough of that. In my paper on Ryse: Son of Rome, I wrote on my fear of it solidifying the Hollywood tropes of Rome if taken at face value. If the games were more closely analyzed, this could be prevented, and thus more could be gained from the class. Building off of this comes my final idea, and it may seem a given but it can’t hurt to simply state it. If we are more closely analyzing games, and we are playing fewer games, we therefore should spend more time on each game.

Overall, HtG was a very engaging course that I will always recommend, for those that like history or for those that don’t. If you like history, this is a unique take on the subject and a great way to broaden your horizons. If you don’t? You need history credits anyway, and it’s better than just the readings!

Leave a comment